University of Otago – NZ

The University of Otago – Quick Facts

  • Founded in 1869, the University of Otago is the oldest university in New Zealand
  • The University of Otago has campuses in 5 main centres throughout New Zealand, with its main campus situated in Dunedin. Dunedin is a coastal city situated in the southern part of the South Island – Campuses
  • The University of Otago has four Academic Divisions and students have the option to study courses in any of these departments: Humanities Science Business Health Sciences
  • The Health Sciences First Year (HSFY) is a foundation year for the five professional programmes: dentistry, medical laboratory science, medicine, pharmacy and physiotherapy. It is also an excellent way to begin a degree in biomedical science or any of the broad range of biological sciences at Otago – HSFY
  • Students join a diverse population of well over 20,000 students from around New Zealand and more than 90 nations around the world
  • The University has 15 well-appointed and friendly residential colleges – Residential Colleges
  • Of particular significance to Australian citizens and permanent residents of Australia is that these students study as domestic students while in New Zealand, meaning that Australian citizens and permanent residents pay the same fees as New Zealand citizens*
  • For further information about the fees of various courses, visit Study Fees
  • Minimum ATAR of 74 is required for consideration for entry

*While Australian citizens and permanent residents pay domestic fees when studying at a New Zealand university, they are subjected to a three-year stand-down period, meaning they will have to live in New Zealand for at least three years and be an ordinary resident in New Zealand before they will be eligible for a New Zealand Student Loan – visit for more information.


To find out more about studying at the University of Otago, visit University of Otago and particularly Prospective Australian Students