Deakin University Overview

Deakin is the seventh largest university in Australia with over 53,000 students. It offers over 700 courses and careers at its four campuses:

  • The largest campus is in the Melbourne suburb of Burwood
  • There are two campuses in Geelong, one at Waurn Ponds and the other on the Geelong Waterfront.


  • A campus is located at Warrnambool. Deakin is somewhat unusual in offering the three semesters (trimesters) per year. This means that it is often possible to complete a three-year degree in two years.
  • Deakin offers real choice about how and when you learn, and it is possible to fast-track your degree by studying additional units in Trimester 3. You can choose from a wide range of study areas and select from the huge range of elective units offered in many courses, including, in some cases, the option to choose elective units from a different field. You can also choose how you study. Cloud (online), the fifth campus, provides flexibility, enabling you to study where and when it suits.
  • Deakin does not offer VET courses in the way that RMIT, Swinburne and Victoria Universities do. However, Deakin has formal arrangement with a number of VET providers offering pathways into their degrees. For example, Bendigo TAFE, Box Hill Institute, Chisholm, Melbourne Polytechnic, Riverina TAFE, South West TAFE and The Gordon (Geelong) have formal pathways. For details:
  • Another pathway to Deakin is from Deakin College. The College offers Diplomas in Commerce, Computing, Engineering, Health Sciences, Manage-ment, Media and Communications and Science. Students who perform well in these one-year diplomas are able to transition to the second year of a similar degree at Deakin University. 
  • A great new resource for exploring courses and careers at Deakin can be found at: Featuring more than 700 courses and careers, this mobile tool will help you discover the myriad of future options available to you. You can scroll, select and save favourite courses and careers for later reference. See: